Skip to content

Halloween = One Week Away!

October 23, 2009

Halloween may be one of my favorite holidays – besides Christmas and Thanksgiving – and not because I’m a chocoholic. I just really enjoy dressing up and think it really forces us to use our imaginations (most adults don’t do this much anymore). How many holidays exist today purely for entertainment (I know some people may do weird ritual things, but in my opinion they aren’t observing the same holiday as I am so they don’t count)?

2

It does sadden to me that kids today don’t get to enjoy the holiday like I used to… running amok, trying to scare each other, and gathering as much candy as one pillowcase can hold!  However, I vote all parents should allow their kids to enjoy the day! Let them dress up and pretend to be whatever they want. They greatest thing we can do for children these days is encourage them to dream and not get in the way of the achievement of said dreams. Dreams begin with childhood imagination which this month means dressing up for Halloween! Sorry for the rant, but I really believe this (and love Halloween)!

2

Halloween decorations are going up tomorrow, and I’m going shopping this weekend for my costume. I think I’m going as a doctor and Gus is going to be my car crash victim patient! Haha. What are you going to be?

PS. Don’t forget to vote on the website renaming poll below, PLEASE!

No comments yet

Leave a comment